Do You Believe It?

In case you didn’t know, today is October 1st and I’m wondering where the summer went. I know that autumn officially started last week, but I was in the midst of hot Phoenix temps that day, and I didn’t feel very fall-ish. Today I woke up to a cool 54 degrees and that absolutely makes me feel like fall is finally in the air.

Autumn is my favorite season, even though here in the southwest we don’t experience the gorgeous changing of leaf colors. I think that was the thing that struck me the most when I moved from Vermont to Arizona in the mid 90’s–that and the fact that the number of sunny days here seemed to equal the number of overcast days in the northeast.

I’ve lived up in the “high country” for seven years now, surrounded by mountains (check out the photo on the left in case you doubt that there are┬ámountains in Arizona!) and we have a fabulous view of these San Francisco Peaks. Sitting out on our patio, Rick love gazing at those glorious mountains to the northeast of us… well, I can’t think of anything better, especially this time of year. I guess I’m a mountain girl at heart, which is a very good thing since that’s where I’m living these days. The cooler weather doesn’t hurt either and makes for some great riding times.

It occurred to me this morning that probably the main reason I like fall so much is that the crisp air makes me feel a little less lethargic, almost energizing me. Back in the day, I would feel like cleaning the house to get it ready for its winter hibernation, but in these days of my “new normal” I am content to use my limited energy to appreciate the magnificent view from our patio.

So, what about you? What do you like most about autumn?

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on October 1, 2011, in autumn, fall, mountains and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m with you Anna, I love those cool nights and mornings and a little sun in the afternoon now and then. I love the foods for fall. Soup and baking are the best! Although I do really like the fall, I guess I really do look forward to each season and its own special treasures. God is so good to have given us seasons.

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

