Restoration

But those who wait upon the Lord will renew their strength.

They will soar on wings like eagles;

they will run and not grow weary,

they will walk and not be faint.

–Isaiah 40:31

In a remote Swiss village stood a beautiful church. The church was not only beautiful to look at, with its high pillars and magnificent stained glass windows, but it had the most incredible pipe organ in the entire region.  People would come from miles away—even from far-off lands—to hear the lovely tones of this organ.

One day a problem arose. The columns were still there, the windows still dazzled with the sunlight, but an eerie silence enveloped the valley. The area no longer echoed with the glorious fine-tuned music of the pipe organ.

Musicians and experts from around the world tried to repair the instrument.  Every time a new person would try to fix it the villagers were subjected to sounds of disharmony, awful noises that seemed to pollute the air.

One day an old man appeared at the church door.  He spoke with the sexton, and after a time the sexton reluctantly agreed to let the old man try his hand at repairing the organ. For two days the old man worked in almost total silence.  The sexton was getting a bit nervous.

Then on the third day, at precisely high noon, the valley once again was filled with glorious music.  Farmers dropped their plows, merchants closed their shops, everyone in town stopped what they were doing and headed for the Cathedral.  Even the bushes and trees of the mountain top seemed to respond as the glorious music echoed from ridge to ridge.

After the old man finished playing, a brave soul  asked how he could have restored the magnificent instrument when the world’s experts could not.  The old man merely said, “It was I who built this organ fifty years ago.  I created it—and now I have restored it.”

God created you, and He knows exactly what you need  to live your life to the fullest.  As your Creator, He can restore you at the end of a draining day—so you can play beautifully music tomorrow.”

–From Sunset With God (Quiet Moments With God) by Honor Books

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Belief, Faith, God, Jesus, Joy, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much. Some how I never noticed the word WAIT. That is a difficult thing to do! Keep up the good devotionals.

    • Alana,

      Thank you for your encouragement. It is understandably very difficult to wait… for anything! But then I think of how often and how long God waits for me to “get” whatever He is trying to teach me at the time. And that makes it easier for me to remember that I need to wait on His timing!

      Blessings to you and yours,
      Anna

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 561 other followers

