Thankful to not have…

I was thinking of this whole thankfulness thing and remembered something that I sometimes pray for: what I don’t have.

Okaaay, I can hear most of you saying to yourselves right now. The rest are thinking, say what?

Yes, you read it correctly. I thank God for things I don’t have, things He has not allowed in my life. I’m not just talking about more serious illnesses than those I live with every day or cataclysmic events such as tornadoes and hurricanes. I’m talking about other stuff: more money, maybe more (and more stylish) clothes or a bigger house. How about straight hair instead of the naturally curly mop I was born with? Or writing talent so spectactular that publishers come after me instead of the other way around.

It seems to me that the more we want, well… the more we want, like some vicious cycle. Contentment with what we have now is admittedly difficult to be thankful for. And yet, I’m wondering if allowing ourselves to feel such contentment will result in that inner peace that is so illusive.

“Peace, mercy and love be yours in abundance.” –Jude 1:2

These are what can be ours. And from personal experience, reminding myself that I have these things usually leads to my feeling happy and contented with what I have in the here and now.

How about you?

 

 

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on November 25, 2011, in blessing, Chronic Illness, Faith, God, Jesus, Joy, Life, peace, thanks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh, my, yes! For years now, I’ve praised the Lord for things I don’t have. It brings a greater appreciation of what I do have. Thankfulness engenders further thankfulness! Blessings to you, Anna!

  2. I definitely agree with this 100%. I actually JUST published my post on something I had waited for, for over 2 years and I as much I prayed that God will give it to me, I didn’t get it and although I was devestated at the time, I definitely look back now and fully agree with how everything planned out. I wouldn’t be the person I am today and when one door shut another one opened. I think we a placed in the situations we are for a reason and while we may not see the outcome now, in the future we will most certainly understand why and that is omething to definitely be thankful for.
    Good thoughtful post, really makes you think!
    Thank you.
    If you would like to read my post in question please go ahead, I would apreciate it very much!

    http://karinaszuman.wordpress.com/2011/11/25/gryphons-and-soldiers/

  3. Thanks, ladies! Sometimes I still have to remind myself that God knows me MUCH better than I know myself!

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 531 other followers

