Diet Soda Cake

FRUGAL FRIDAY

Today’s Frugal Friday offering is probably the easiest recipe I have ever used to make the most delicious and moist cake ever. My daughter told me about it a few years back and I admit I was skeptical. But you absolutely need to make this to see what I mean by moist.

It takes two—yes, only two—ingredients. And without anything more said, here it is!

DIET SODA CAKE

1 package of cake mix, any flavor

1 12-ounce can of diet soda, any flavor

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix together the dry cake mix with the can of diet soda. You can use a mixer but I simply use a wire whisk.
  3. Pour batter into a 9″ x 13″ pan.
  4. Bake at 350° according to the cake mix package directions.
  5. Cool completely on a wire rack.

Frosting options:

  • If serving right after it is completely cooled, frost entire cake with whipped topping.
  • Frost each individual slice with a large dollop of whipped topping.
  • Dust the entire cake with confectioners’ sugar.
  • Frost this cake with canned frosting or homemade frosting of your choice.

Notes:

  1. Do NOT include the eggs, oil and water indicated on the cake mix box. Only add the diet soda to the dry mix. Period.
  2. There are so many flavor combinations you can make. When I make a light cake such as white, yellow or spice, I add a can of Diet Sprite or Diet 7-Up. I’ve made a chocolate-cherry version of this by adding a can of Diet Cherry Coke to chocolate cake
  3. This cake freezes very well. Since I make it sometimes just for Rick and me, I’ll serve it for dessert the same night I’ve made it. Then the next morning I cut the remainder into slices and place the individual slices into plastic storage containers with tightly sealing lids. Whenever the mood strikes, I pull out two slices just before dinner and place them on individual dessert plates to thaw while we’re eating our dinner. I reseal the storage container and it goes back into the freezer for next time

For a clean printable copy, click here.

Enjoy!

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on December 23, 2011, in baking, cake and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers

