My Treasures, Part 6

On May 8th I posted about the treasures in my life and decided to expand on each of those treasures for the next few Treasure Tuesdays. This week I want to share the next of the treasures on my list:

My four wacky and wonderful sisters

Left to right (youngest to oldest): Maria, Julie, Palma, Nancy and me!

In the cookies of life, sisters are the chocolate chips. –Author Unknown

To the outside world we all grow old.  But not to brothers and sisters.  We know each other as we always were.  We know each other’s hearts.  We share private family jokes.  We remember family feuds and secrets, family griefs and joys.  We live outside the touch of time. –Clara Ortega

Can I just say right now that I have the greatest sisters? There we are, all five of us together. Can you see the family resemblance? There were only us girls growing up—no boys. I think that’s why Dad’s hair turned gray at such a young age. I mean, can you imagine being the only male in the household? Six women, including Mom… yikes!

Growing up together was mostly fun although we did have our crabby times once in a while. Of course we shared bedrooms because there were so many of us. There are 10 years between Julie and Maria, so for a long time it was just four of us. Nancy and I shared a bedroom; Palma and Julie shared another.

We shared a lot more than just our bedrooms but mostly I remember sharing clothes when we hit the teen years. It was like having a never-ending wardrobe!

In our first house, our bedrooms were right off the kitchen. My aunt and uncle and their family lived in the flat above ours, and many’s the time I can recall falling asleep to the sound of my parents talking with my aunt and uncle late into the night.

My parents were both born outside of Naples, Italy, and came to the United States in the late 40′s. They knew each other in Italy but married here in the U.S. They learned to speak English right along with us as we grew up. I remember us girls in bed for the night calling back and forth between the two bedrooms different Italian words and the corresponding English word. Sounds silly, I know, but it was fun for us!

We are now living in different areas of the country: Julie still lives in Schenectady, NY where we grew up; Palma lives outside of Boston, MA; Nancy and Maria live in suburbs of Tampa, FL (Dad lives down there too); and I’m waaay on the other side of the country in northern AZ.

As of this writing, I haven’t seen my sisters in almost three years. I have chronic migraines that only get worse when traveling by air because of the pressurized cabin. But when we do all get together, we have a blast. Since we are Italian, we not only talk with our hands but our voices can get quite loud. I think anyone who sees us together can tell we are sisters (and how many times have they asked, “Are you all sisters?”) who love each other and have tons of fun together.

Here are some photos of special times spent together:

We’re pretty in pink here!

Our family back in 1995

Some of us seesters in one of our hotel rooms

Dad’s 80th birthday celebration at Disney World

Dad and a few of us having coffee

Staying dry at Universal Studios in FL

One of the photo captions uses the word “seesters.” This is just part of our sister lingo, a special way we refer to our special bond.

These days we seesters keep in touch via email, texts sometimes, and one of my seesters is even on Facebook. Our relationship over the years has had its high and low points, but one thing always keeps us together:

We absolutely love and cherish each other!

So, to Nancy, Palma, Julie and Maria: you are all true treasures to me and I am always thankful for each and every one of you in my life.

Love you all!

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on July 3, 2012, in sisters, treasure and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I had two brothers and two sisters but we did not grow up together. I was the baby in the family and it wasn’t until after I was married and had my first son that my next up sister and I became friendly. I met my brother 33 years after leaving him in England when we came out to Australia and while we were ‘strangers’ it was as though we had spent out lives together. Those two siblings are precious even though we were apart through our growing years.

    • Thank you for sharing that here, Cloudwatcher. Being a family is not always easy but well worth the sometimes- effort of seeking to understand and love each other in spite of personal quirks or past family history. Then we can truly appreciate how precious our siblings are to us.

      Many blessings to you!
      ~Anna

  1. Pingback: Thankful for My Family | This Thing Called Life...

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

