Frugal Jar and Bottle Decorating

Today’s Frugal Friday is brought to you via Katherine’s Corner, one of my favorite blogs. One of her recent blog posts was called “That’s Jarring,” and really got my attention.

You see, Rick recently surprised me with a blue glass bottle he found at a yard sale. I decided to use it for olive oil and display it next to my stove so I immediately put it in the dishwasher to clean it out properly. Sadly, the dishwasher destroyed the shiny finish but I didn’t want to trash it. I’ve been looking for a frugal way to fix it up so I can still use it and I found the perfect way when I read “That’s Jarring.”

Here’s the before of my sad blue bottle:

As you can hopefully see, the stopper was not affected because I did not put it in the dishwasher too. Here’s a glimpse from Katie’s blog post that gave me the idea of how to make this bottle look much better:

Now all I need to do is buy some twine, which is on my shopping list. When I finish this project, I’ll update this post with my “after” pics. Here is another sweet and frugal idea from Katie’s post:

So, please stop by Katherine’s Corner to see and read more of her “Jarring” post, including great pics and links to other sites with ideas about repurposing jars and bottles. Oh, stick around there awhile and you’ll also find other craft projects, recipes, giveaways and lots more.

Thanks, Katie, for the great idea!

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on July 6, 2012, in decorating, DIY, frugal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Ooo…love the bottles with the twine, Anna! Thanks for the idea. I missed Katie’s post on it.

  2. Anna, you are such a doll. Thank you for sharing my project with your readers. I look forward to seeing your bottle.

    • No, thank YOU Katie, for allowing me to share. I can’t wait to get my bottle all prettied up but this project is going to have to wait a week or so. Too much going on here!

  1. Pingback: HOME DECOR FRUGAL CHIC STYLE! « JahsWorld

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 560 other followers

