Wait For the Lord

Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; yes, wait for the LORD. —Psalm 27:14

No one likes to wait.

I can remember when the only ways we got in touch with each other was to phone them or send them actual written letters. I know, I’m dating myself here! Then email became the preferred method of communication because it was so much quicker.

We still use email but most of us now text our messages to each other because that is even faster. And don’t even get me started on how much we rely on social media like Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest to instantly transmit our thoughts.

We rush through fast-food drive-thrus.

We even drive faster than we should because posted speed limits seem impossibly slow to us.

How many times have you been waiting for an elevator where you or someone else has already pushed the “up” or “down” button. The button is already lit up but then another person approaches and presses the button again because that will obviously make the elevator arrive faster.

And check out the “Walk” light image above. In big cities, most people walk to their destinations. Waiting at crosswalks is always interesting. Many people repeatedly push the button that changes the light as if the light will immediately change in their favor. Some people step off the curb as they’re waiting so they’ll have a head start when the light does change. And then there are those who are so impatient to get across the street that they won’t wait for the “Walk” light to appear. They dodge cars as they force their way to the other side.

It strikes me that all of this is similar to the way we sometimes approach God when seeking direction in our lives.

Sometimes we swamp God with prayer because we think we might get our answer faster.

Other times we’re like those who step off the curb while waiting for the “Walk” light: we know God will answer our prayer but we step out ahead of His timing.

And how about when we rush headlong with our agenda without waiting for God to show us His will? We mistakenly proceed on our own to do what seems best to reach our goal but how often do we get tangled up in “what might have been” because we jump so far ahead of God’s timing?

Boy, have I been there, more times than I can count! Waiting for God is not easy, is it? Sometimes that kind of silence can feel like forever. We start to think we’re praying the wrong way or that God doesn’t understand how urgent our situation is.

Beloved, God knows exactly what is going on in our lives and in our hearts. He has always been aware of what we need—before we were even born! His timing is always exactly right!

Even though I am currently in a season of waiting, I am faithfully trying to remember that:

…with the LORD one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. —1 Peter 2:8

What that means to me is that even though I may think it’s taking too long to see the Lord’s will in my life right now, that doesn’t mean He isn’t already working things out.

This is exactly the time for me to keep on praying while waiting and trusting. How about you?

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Lord, wait and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Happy Monday, Anna!! (Oxymoron, right?) Lifting you up today, and hope He’s guiding you into a comfortable writing routine.

    I’m right there with you on the waiting. I’m one who stands in front of the microwave thinking, “come ON” ;)

    • Hi Susan! Since I can now set my own hours, I don’t think of Monday as a bad day but I remember how that felt!

      Thank you for all your prayers. God is revealing His plan for me a little at a time, which is once again teaching me to wait patiently. I’m with you about the microwave being too slow and have said those exact words more times than I can remember!

      Blessings on your Monday!

  2. Anna, what a great post. Your analogies of our hurried and impatient ways are terrific. You are so right. So often we don’t even pray until we have figured out how God needs to answer or how He needs to “fix” the problem. Thanks for reminding me of how we need to wait in the correct way.

  3. I think I’ve said this before, but getting older helps. I truly believe that the older I get, the more patience I get and I don’t mind waiting for lights to change and allowing drivers who are ‘in a hurry’ to dash across an intersection even though it is my right of way.

    Now, when it comes to waiting on God – well, maybe I need to get a bit older. I still tend to rush ahead on my own, without even consulting Him . . . but isn’t He wonderful? He very soon brings me to a halt and proves to me yet again that I can achieve nothing without Him.

    What an amazing God!

    • Cloudwatcher, I applaud your laid-back style but I’m not sure I’m there yet. I think maybe I’m still in the “I can’t believe it’s taking me so long to do this these days” stage? ;)

      Seriously, I think we all tend to rush ahead of God at times, maybe because we’re still stuck in the mindset that we’re strong in ourselves. Maybe, like me at times, it’s just that our “forgetter” kicks in.

      Whatever it is, you’re right that our amazing God loves us enough to reign us and our wayward thoughts in so He can show us HIS plans for us. Thank You, Lord!

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 562 other followers

