A Future Only God Can See

Corrie ten Boom and her family helped many Jews escape the Nazi Holocaust by making their home a refuge (a hiding place) for Jews and members of the Dutch underground. Her family was arrested in 1944 due to an informant and her Corrie’s father died 10 days later while in prison. One of Corrie’s sisters, a brother and a nephew were released but Corrie ten Boom and her sister Betsie were sent to Ravensbruck concentration camp. Of her family members who were imprisoned, Corrie was the only survivor.

One of the books Corrie ten Boom wrote about her experiences is called The Hiding Place. The quote above is from this book. Here are several others:

“Dear Jesus…how foolish of me to have called for human help when You are here.”

“There are no ‘if’s’ in God’s world. And no places that are safer than other places. The center of His will is our only safety – let us pray that we may always know it!”

“In darkness God’s truth shines most clear.”

“Today I know that such memories are the key not to the past, but to the future. I know that the experiences of our lives, when we let God use them, become the mysterious and perfect preparation for the work He will give us to do.”

“How often it is a small, almost unconscious event that makes a turning point.”

“Even as the angry vengeful thoughts boiled through me, I saw the sin of them. Jesus Christ had died for this man; was I going to ask for more? Lord Jesus, I prayed, forgive me and help me to forgive him….Jesus, I cannot forgive him. Give me your forgiveness….And so I discovered that it is not on our forgiveness any more than on our goodness that the world’s healing hinges, but on His. When He tells us to love our enemies, He gives along with the command, the love itself.”

How I long and pray for this kind of faith!

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on August 25, 2012, in Corrie ten Boom, Faith, future and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you for these wonderful quotes from Corrie. She and her family were an amazing example of what God can do through willing vessels. Many years later Corrie toured the USA giving her testimony of the power or God and the power of forgivness. If you have never heard one of her messages, you would be surprised at how funny she was. In spite of all her hardship, she had a tremendous sense of humor. There is so much we could say about this wonderful family that gave all for Him. Thanks again, I loved this post, it may be my new favorite.

  2. Corrie Ten Boon gave us many challenging examples of faith in action and of love in action.

  1. Pingback: What if I don’t feel like it? « Michael Wilson's Blog

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

