Hello Autumn!

I am originally from upstate New York but have been living in the Southwest since 1994. This saturation of autumn color is what I miss most about living in the Northeast. I have always loved the change of color during the cool autumns in the Adirondack Mountains not too far from where I grew up.

I know many of you have already done this but I guess it’s time for this girl to dress up our home for fall!

Oh, and let’s not forget the kind of comfort cooking and eating that is just too heavy to enjoy in the summer heat. Hmm… what shall I make first? Apple or pumpkin pie? Crock pot chili or stew?

How about you? What do you do to celebrate autumn?

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on September 22, 2012, in autumn, fall and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oh, I just live this picture. I totally know what you are talking about with the changing of the colors. I live at the foot of beautiful Pikes Peak in Colorado Springs. Fall is my very favorite time of the year, and for most of the reasons you state. I love the fall colors and decorate accordingly. Our family also loves to take a nice drive up pikes peak or to Cripple Creek. The colors are indescribable! God Bless!

    • Thanks Anna. I used to see these gorgeous fall colors when I lived in various parts of the northeast, but not these days with the scrub pines we have here in northern AZ. But photos are good for reviving memories!

      Blessings!
      ~Anna

  2. My favorite part of fall is the colorful leaves and the coolness in the air! Looking forward to that.

  3. We don’t see any autumn tonings here, and most of our trees are evergreens so we don’t get bare trees in winter either, though some do get ‘scorched’ and brownish with too much sun and heat in the summer.

    I do so WISH we were heading into Autumn. It is the third week of Spring here but it is already too hot for me. We have been ‘promised’ an extra hot summer this year, partly because we had no real winter – just a few nights that were a bit cool.

    So ahead for us is a whole lot of salads and fruit. I don’t want to add to the heat by turning on the oven!

    • Oh, I hear you, Cloudwatcher! Summer heat and I do not play well together these days, so I’m very thankful for the cooler autumn days.

      As for cooking, do you have a crock pot? I use mine all summer long, and on really hot days, I have been known to plug it in out in the garage so as not to add even a little more heat to the kitchen.

      Blessings,
      ~Anna

  4. Love this, Anna! SO MANY things I love about fall – hearty soups, crusty breads, and here in Virginia — APPLES. Apple EVERYTHING: crisps, breads, butters, ciders…

    Hard to believe it’s already here!!

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

