God is the great I AM

TREASURE TUESDAY

Today’s Treasure Tuesday post is brought to you thanks to my mentor and friend, Patricia Knight.

God said to Moses, ‘I am who I am.’   —Exodus 3:4

God is.

God is able.

God is able to do.

God is able to do great things.

He is able to do great things for us.

Sometimes the simpler we describe God, the more majestic He becomes. Isn’t it with simplicity that He guides us in our faith? It was never His goal to make our walk with Him complicated. “Come as a little child” (Matthew 18:3), He told His disciples long ago. He instructs us the same way today. That is why I love to observe our grandsons and learn truths about God from applying analogies to their activities. We can learn from all people, young and old.

God tells us to “get wisdom, knowledge and understanding” (Proverbs 23:23b) and to treasure them.  God wants us to learn and grow. Not a static faith, Christianity comes alive in Christ. Worship at the throne of Grace where we can find our Lord, not as a hard-handed authoritarian, but as a loving, merciful, gracious Father.

If we knew we could plug our bodies and minds into a Source of power to gain energy and ability, wouldn’t we rush to do it? We can call on the God of all power who created and sustains the universe. If we knew we could inherit an eternal life of bliss, with no suffering or sadness ever again, wouldn’t we stand in line waiting for an extended period of time to gain access to such a gift?

There is no need to cool our heels in long lines. Come to the Savior personally. With humility and meekness, imitating Jesus, bow down before the Savior of the world, requesting forgiveness and a new life with God as the Lord of your life.

Believe.

Has God made our faith in Him too simplistic?  It was designed so that a child could understand the terms. At times when we struggle with trials, we are convinced the Christian life is complicated. There are adversities to be lived and learned so that we can develop into the best disciples possible. There is predicted persecution from following Jesus, but we have never been told to go it alone.

God is with us and promises

never to leave us or forsake us” (Joshua 1:5). 

What security! What blessedness! What absolute joy! God is in the quietness. Listen carefully for Him. You will hear Him speak through His Word, through other Christians, through your experiences, and in prayer.

We will never hear Him if we are striving and fumbling about with our own goals.  Prayer is a two-way conversation. Talk and then—listen. Listen with impunity. Listen with intent. Listen with reverence. Hear with purpose so that once the quietness is past, the goals become manifest. Go forward in faith, knowing what God has spoken is solemn and sovereign.

God is faithful.

He will meet all your needs” (Philippians 4:19).

That is a promise! God said it and that makes it so. Do not fret. Do not worry. Forsake anxiety and confusion, for God offers peace and comfort. God is immutable. It is impossible for Him to make mistakes or to go back on His Words. It just can’t happen, for it would alter the character of God.

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever. —Hebrews 13:6

What a firm foundation for our faith!

As you go forward with new plans for each day,cast your cares and worries on God, for He cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7). He will free you from questions and doubts to accomplish the work for which He has chosen you. Keep your faith strong by remaining  locked in God’s Word. He will steer your life and your plans. Stay the course. As you leave your home bay for a destination on the other side of the waters, keep your eyes on the Light in the distance, for God will lead you home. Allow God to be your pilot, your oarsman, your guide. He promises to provide you with His strength for the journey, though it may occasionally be long and treacherous.

Dare to think big. Dare to trust in a God who is big, who is strong and mighty, and who controls the elements of nature with complete authority. Become one with God so that His goals are yours; His power and strength are transferred to your life. God lavishes His children richly with His gifts. In return, give yourself obediently to the Lord; all of your body, mind, and soul.

He will never fail you. On that you can depend, for He is simply, but elegantly,

the Great I Am.

Thank you, dear Pat, for sharing your heart with us here again.

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on November 6, 2012, in All in All, God, I AM and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. So true Anna! If only we could take God as He is, simply I AM, and not be fooled by the simplicity of the gospel. God is indeed not complicated, I believe!

  2. So powerful. I’ll be reading this several times today.
    Thank you, Pat (and Anna)!

    • Susan, Pat and I often talk about how God is the great I AM so I was thrilled when she sent me this devotional. There are often times when I can’t seem to adequately express my enormous love for my God, and that is when I simply thank Him for being the great I AM because that says it all! I’ll pass your comments on to Pat.

      Blessings!
      ~Anna

  3. So true! He is ALL we need, whatever the circumstances. He cannot fail. His Word is true. His promises are true and He WILL undertake for us.

    What an amazing God!

    • I think “I AM” encompasses everything my puny brain can even think of to describe God. And I have a strong feeling that the reality will be unimaginable! Amazing God indeed!

  1. Pingback: The Great I AM | This Thing Called Life...

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 547 other followers

