The Perfect Christmas

The sounds of Christmas are starting earlier every year. Halloween isn’t even here yet when the stores start decorating for Christmas. And before Thanksgiving is on the horizon, Christmas music starts playing.

In fact as I sit here writing this I am listening to my own mix of Christmas music. My taste in this has changed somewhat over the years. Now I prefer instrumental music over songs with lyrics. It soothes and calms my heart and makes me feel more in touch with what I believe Christmas should really be.

Celebrating Christmas involves a host of activities. Buying—maybe making—and giving presents. Baking cookies and other holiday yummies. Christmas trees, ornaments and decorations. Singing and listening to carols. Connecting with others.

What is it about Christmas that makes us want to embrace it so completely?

There are countless magazine, ezine and other online articles showing us how to create the perfect Christmas for our families. Some magazines are even completely dedicated to the Christmas theme, filled with new or traditional recipes for cookies and other treats. They illustrate ways to decorate our homes to enhance that Christmas feeling and show us how to create to-do lists to keep track of everything that needs to be done by December 25th.

We rush around in an effort to find the best deals on gifts for friends and family. And why not? Since everything is more expensive now and our paychecks are probably not keeping up with rising prices, we need to save money wherever we can. Maybe we’ve decided to try for a more basic Christmas by making gifts and goodies. That still means we have to actually buy whatever it takes to make them. In a frenzied effort to provide our families with the perfect Christmas, we may miss the point of the whole thing.

And that is…?

Celebrating the birth of Jesus because it paved the way for us to live with Him forever in heaven.

Worshiping the One who made us and sent His Son to be born as a human being.

Thanking God for the humanness of Jesus Christ so that He experienced everything we’re going through and completely understands our joys and sorrows.

I have changed a lot over the years. When my children were young, I enjoyed all the hustle and bustle of decorating the tree and the house, baking all sorts of cookies and treats, shopping for those “perfect” gifts. I loved the excited smiles on my children’s faces as they saw the presents piled under the tree on Christmas morning and rushed to find those with their names on them.

Now I cherish more simple things this time of year: enjoying the long-standing tradition of exchanging Christmas socks with my daughter; listening to reflective Christmas music as I am right now; reading cards and notes from friends and family.

Other simple things? The look of twinkling lights. The aroma of a few cookies and quick breads baking. Hanging the stockings I crocheted on the mantel.

My Christmas trees used to drip with treasured family ornaments and colored lights. Now I put out this small but precious ceramic tree made especially for me years ago by my mother-in-law. There are also a few decorations scattered throughout the house and a wreath on the front door…

more than enough to satisfy my Christmas heart.

How about you, Beloved? Do you go all out for Christmas or have you scaled back in recent years?

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on December 1, 2012, in Christmas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. When the family was young – and later when grandchildren were with us for Christmas, we decorated etc, just as you described.

    For more than a decade now, we have been privileged to be part of the family celebrations of one or more of our sons and their families, all of whom live a distance away. The closest (two) are a five hour drive south, one is a fifteen hour drive north and the others require a flight: one right across to the other side of the country (or a five DAY drive through mostly desert) and one overseas to New York (previously London).

    So for years now Christmas has been a much more relaxed time as we are spoiled by one or more of our sons and their families.

    I love the time with family, but of course, the most important part of Christmas is thanking our amazing God for His Provision of our eternal redemption through the birth, life, death and resurrection of His Son, our Saviour, the Lord Jesus.

    • When my children were young, I was mostly busy trying to make the “perfect Christmas” for them because I remembered such Christmases in my own young life. However, as I’ve gotten older, not only do I have more time to reflect on the true meaning of Christmas but the Lord’s saving presence in my mind and heart have made a huge difference in how I approach this special day.

      I love your last paragraph so much that it bears repeating:

      “I love the time with family, but of course, the most important part of Christmas is thanking our amazing God for His Provision of our eternal redemption through the birth, life, death and resurrection of His Son, our Saviour, the Lord Jesus.”

      Thank you, Cloudwatcher, for taking the time to visit, read AND comment!

      Blessings to you and yours!!!

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

