Renewed Day by Day

Thankful Thursday

16-coffee-heart

Therefore do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. —2 Corinthians 4:16

“Coffee Break: Recharge Your Brain” read an Internet headline awhile back and could I ever relate to that! I am definitely a coffee drinker and very thankful that its pick-me-up properties help ease me into my day. I awaken foggy brained most days but after an hour or two of java sipping I usually feel better able to face whatever the day holds.

After reading that headline, it occurred to me that if coffee can boost our energy levels, how much more we could be recharged by diving into the Word of God!

coffee and Bible

In this particular Scripture passage, Paul is urging us to not dwell on our present circumstances and  trials, but instead focus on God’s grace in our lives. I am always impressed by how often Paul—who continually praised God in the midst of the many trials, persecutions and imprisonments he endured —encourages us to look outward to God rather than inwardly focusing on our daily concerns.

What an example Paul is! He never lost heart over his dire circumstances. In fact, he urged his followers to use these situations to draw closer to God in order to be spiritually and emotionally renewed. Paul’s close relationship with the Lord gave him the confidence to rely on the Holy Spirit’s strength when things were toughest for him.

And so can we do the same thing, Beloved. During those times when we feel we absolutely cannot go on, let’s not let fatigue or pain keep us from drawing closer to God and renewing ourselves with His refreshing spiritual nourishment.

coffee

AnnaSmile

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on March 21, 2013, in daily, renewal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love a good cup of coffee but I have never felt the ‘recharge’ or ‘pick-me-up’ that others get from it. On the other hand, the Word of God is powerful and recharges me every time I read it.

    • I agree with you about the powerfully recharging Word of God, but as one who wakes up almost daily with a raging migraine, the coffee plus Excedrin (which also contains caffeine) is the only thing that I have found to get rid of my migraines for at least a small portion of the day.

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 531 other followers

