Curls, curls, curls!

Tidbit Tuesday

0205131004-1

As you can see from the photo above—which is a couple of months old—I’m back to wearing my hair in its naturally curly state. I can still wear a straighter ‘do if I’m up to it, but it takes so much energy for me to get it into a straight look:

  • set it on those giant rollers
  • wait for it to dry (which seems to take forever)
  • unwrap my hair from one roller at a time, blow drying each one to ensure the hair is completely dry
  • use my straight iron on each curl to make even more sure it is dry and also to straighten it more
  • brush out my hair
  • use said straight iron again on the areas that refused to cooperate all those other times
  • finally done!

All this is extremely difficult for me these days, especially when you throw in the added problem of arthritis in my shoulders.

So what’s a gal to do? Go back to what God gave me! After 60-some years, I have decided to finally embrace my natural curls. Sad that it had to take so long, huh?

How about you ladies out there? Are you happy with your hair the way it naturally is or do you change things up a lot?

AnnaSmile

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on April 2, 2013, in hair, happy, Tidbit Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I like this pic. You should make it profile pic! It’s bright and the curls look good on you! ;-) God bless! Praying for your for your arthritis! Anyhow, again, the curls look really good on you!

  2. I LOVE your hair! I pay “big bucks” to get a perm to look like that!

    • It has always been interesting to me that women with curly hair want it straight and vice versa. I can’t count the number of straight-haired women who have told me they would love to have my curly hair, and I’ve always told them I’d love to have their straight hair! I guess we’ll never be truly content with ourselves on this earth. ;-)

  3. I like it curly AND two of my sisters pay a lot to get theirs just like it!! So why not just pretend you did too!

  4. Straight,straight, straight. How i have always wanted natural curls. Get this all three of my daughters have curls!! I remember sitting through a ‘stinky’ perm as a child. Now i wear it short and after mousse. I just fluff it

    • And what’s funny about what you said is that I have sat through my own “stinky” reverse perms (as I call them), whether that’s having it done at a salon or doing it myself at home — and that started when I was around 16 years old! :-)

  5. Ooooh, I love your curls. How many times over the years I have suffered through those horrid perms to have such lovely curls. I have finally found a hairdresser who knows how to texture my straight hair so that I also, like catsandquilts, just fluff and go. Funny how it can take most of our lives to embrace what God has blessed us with. ;-)

  6. All through my young life I wished I wasn’t such a very, very, very redhead! Why couldn’t I be a brunette – or at least not something so . . . different. I didn’t want to stand out in a crowd.

    As I grew I became less agro about my rich auburn hair, until eventually I even came to like it. Then . . . would you believe, it started to fade. As far as I’m concerned I am still a rehead, but most would call be a sandy blonde or a honey blonde. Yes, I get a body wave, but no, I don’t add colour, even though Myles would like me to.

    • I don’t color my hair any more either, Cloudwatcher. I have thyroid issues plus probably my age which causes my hair to be thinning on top, so I don’t need to complicate that with unnecessary chemicals. As I often tell my hubby, I earned each and every one of these grays! ;-)

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

