Oh, the pain…

mish mash

This Mishmash Monday is brought to you by the pain I live with every day. There are several things I’m going through this week that will make it difficult for me to work on my blog regularly for the next couple of weeks, so I’m scheduling several inspirational image posts to remind you how much you are loved by Jesus Christ, the One who loves us so much He died for our sins.

Even though I endure pain on a daily basis, I always look to my Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ, for “the peace that passes all understanding” (Philippians 4:7). And I absolutely “consider it all joy…when [I] encounter various trials” (James 1:2).

How is this even possible? Because I know where my true joy lies: in the knowledge that one day I will no longer be in any kind of pain as I enjoy life in my new heavenly home.

So, here’s my mishmash of images that describe (in a way) how I feel on any given day.

CycleOfChronicPain

My term for de-conditioning is “payback”

Fibromyalgia

fibro1

This is how I should look because of how I normally feel

This is how I should look because of how I normally feel

Migraine head

Migraine head

what_is_chronic_pain

If you have trouble viewing the Casting Crowns video above, here are the lyrics to the song, “Praise You in This Storm”:


I was sure by now
God You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away
Stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining

As the thunder rolls
I barely hear Your whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

[Chorus:]
And I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when
I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry to you
And you raised me up again
My strength is almost gone
How can I carry on
If I can’t find You

But as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

[Chorus]

I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord
The Maker of Heaven and Earth

AnnaSmile

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Chronic Illness, chronic pain and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Thanks for today’s devotional. How often I forget his love, his presence ‘during the storm’. I pray I will be closer.

    • I think what we forget ‘during the storm’ is that God is still the same as when we’re on that mountaintop. HE never changes; we do, in our thoughts and actions. I am ever thankful for His unchangeableness!

  2. Today I have put you on the prayer list at church, I pray that you will feel the healing from many prayers.

    • Gretchen, I’m so touched that you included me in your church’s prayer list. Thank you so much!

      I know that I am being prayed over by a lot of people in my life, my own church included, and I believe that is why I can still hang onto my joy during this storm.

  3. I have a different diagnosis but almost identicle symptoms. I try to pray daily for others in similar conditions. “Who comforteth us in all our tribulation , that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble , by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God .” 2 Cor. 1:4

  4. I can’t imagine the constant pain, Anna. Day in and day out? I know you find your strength in Him, but I also imagine you get tired of it.
    That Casting Crowns song is one of my favorites.

    • Susan, I admit that I do get tired of the constant, daily pain. But I take it to Jesus, who intimately knows pain so He can intercede and help me through. There is still joy in my life in spite of my circumstances, and that will never change. This is what I cling to…always.

  5. I am three days behind and trying to catch up. I know you have constant pain, but when I read this I prayed that you would know a time of relief and have some freedom of movement, that you can enjoy a little extra and then relax some. You are an inspiration!

    • Thank you so much for your prayers, Cloudwatcher! There are so many wonderful people praying for me, and believe me, I have felt lifted up to the Throne of Grace all week. I am thankful and humbled by all the prayers on my behalf.

      Blessings!
      ~Anna

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 560 other followers

