Wait For the Lord (Repost)

Wonderful Wednesday

Recently I was reminded of something that happened years ago when Rick and I were waiting to sell our home in California before we moved to Arizona. We had already found and put a down payment on the house we wanted in Arizona. Things were going well with our California house sale until we received two offers that we had to turn down.

The first offer contained unacceptable buyer contingencies and was not a problem to turn down. The second offer, however, was a huge surprise. We had literally just signed the contract to accept the buyers’ offer when our realtor received a call from them to say they had to back out of the deal. An accident had just occurred in which a vehicle had driven right into their house! Obviously they had no choice but the timing was stunning to all of us.

Our realtor was frantic with worry but we kept on assuring her that the whole thing was in God’s timing. That amazed her.

On the other end of this deal, the builder of our Arizona home needed more earnest money to finish the items we had asked him to add, so we had to scramble to come up with those funds. I was sharing all of this in one of my online writers’ groups when I received a message that really cemented Rick’s and my attitude to trust God while we waited. TrustInGodsPerfectTiming

My writer friend wrote this about the word wait:

The root word for wait in Hebrew means to twist, to stretch. The original meaning was twisting and stretching fiber to make a strong rope. The idea in Hebrew is that waiting strengthens us by this twisting and stretching process.

The other side of the waiting process is that waiting is never considered a passive posture. While we are waiting, we are to be in prayer about the situation while at the same time trusting that God is already working on a solution.

The wonderful and happy ending is that the third offer we received to buy our house was for more than we had been asking. If we were in awe of how God structured this whole thing, you can only imagine how this impacted our realtor. On the day we handed her the house keys after the moving van had loaded everything up, she said, “You were right all along. God did have everything under control!”

Rick and I do not know how God used this in her life but that doesn’t matter. What does matter is that God used us and our trust in Him to show her how wonderfully He can work everything out.

Today I am sharing an old post with you because it is so pertinent to this subject. Enjoy!

……

Wait for the Lord

Wait

Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; yes, wait for the LORD. —Psalm 27:14

No one likes to wait.

I can remember when the only ways we got in touch with each other was to phone them or send them actual written letters. I know, I’m dating myself here! Then email became the preferred method of communication because it was so much quicker.

We still use email but most of us now text our messages to each other because that is even faster. And don’t even get me started on how much we rely on social media like Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest to instantly transmit our thoughts.

We rush through fast-food drive-thrus.

We even drive faster than we should because posted speed limits seem impossibly slow to us.

How many times have you been waiting for an elevator where you or someone else has already pushed the “up” or “down” button. The button is already lit up but then another person approaches and presses the button again because that will obviously make the elevator arrive faster.

And check out the “Walk” light image above. In big cities, most people walk to their destinations. Waiting at crosswalks is always interesting. Many people repeatedly push the button that changes the light as if the light will immediately change in their favor. Some people step off the curb as they’re waiting so they’ll have a head start when the light does change. And then there are those who are so impatient to get across the street that they won’t wait for the “Walk” light to appear. They dodge cars as they force their way to the other side.

It strikes me that all of this is similar to the way we sometimes approach God when seeking direction in our lives.

Sometimes we swamp God with prayer because we think we might get our answer faster.

Other times we’re like those who step off the curb while waiting for the “Walk” light: we know God will answer our prayer but we step out ahead of His timing.

And how about when we rush headlong with our agenda without waiting for God to show us His will? We mistakenly proceed on our own to do what seems best to reach our goal but how often do we get tangled up in “what might have been” because we jump so far ahead of God’s timing?

Boy, have I been there, more times than I can count! Waiting for God is not easy, is it? Sometimes that kind of silence can feel like forever. We start to think we’re praying the wrong way or that God doesn’t understand how urgent our situation is.

Beloved, God knows exactly what is going on in our lives and in our hearts. He has always been aware of what we need—before we were even born! His timing is always exactly right!

Even though I am currently in a season of waiting, I am faithfully trying to remember that:

…with the LORD one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. —1 Peter 2:8

What that means to me is that even though I may think it’s taking too long to see the Lord’s will in my life right now, that doesn’t mean He isn’t already working things out.

This is exactly the time for me to keep on praying while waiting and trusting. How about you?

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on May 29, 2013, in Lord, wait and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good post, Anna. Yes, I’ve been right there too — storming the beaches before the Commander has given the Go. And sadly I’ve also been the lolly-gagger, dragging her feet. I’m grateful for His patience with me as well as His timing :)

    Hope you are well and enjoying warmer temps!

  2. Waiting is hard Anna, but it is a must in order to get God’s best at His best time too. Thanks for sharing, do have a super blessed weekend!

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

