What if…

Thankful Thursday

Something for all of us to ponder,

not only on this Thankful Thursday,

but every single day…

WhatIf

I read this saying recently and have been mulling it over. I know I’ve shared this with you before but I always want to remember all of these below for which I am thankful each and every day.

My Lord and Savior: Jesus Christ

Calvary

I, even I, am the LORD, and apart from me there is no savior.—Isaiah 43:11

My sweet husband: Rick

Rick-Anna05192012-sm

For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh. This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about Christ and the church. However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband. –Ephesians 5:31-33

My precious children: Kathy, Alan and Denise (my daughter-in-love)

Left to right: Dad, Kathy, Denise, Alan, me, Rick

Left to right: Dad, Kathy, Denise, Alan, me, Rick

Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it. –Proverbs 22:6

Whoever welcomes one of these little children in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me does not welcome me but the one who sent me. –Mark 9:37

I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth. –3 John 1:4

My loving parents: Mom (now home with the Lord) and Dad

Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you. –Exodus 20:12

My four wacky and wonderful sisters

Mar2005-Seesters(2)Left to right (youngest to oldest): Maria, Julie, Palma, Nancy and me!

In the cookies of life, sisters are the chocolate chips. –Author Unknown

To the outside world we all grow old.  But not to brothers and sisters.  We know each other as we always were.  We know each other’s hearts.  We share private family jokes.  We remember family feuds and secrets, family griefs and joys.  We live outside the touch of time. –Clara Ortega

All my close and special friends

[Too many to display photos or mention by name but you know who you are!]

friends-are-forever

A true friend is someone who thinks that you are a good egg even though he knows that you are slightly cracked. –Bernard Meltzer

 A friend knows the song in my heart and sings it to me when my memory fails. –Donna Roberts

Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one.’ –C. S. Lewis

A caring and supportive church family:

CVGraceCrossThis is the actual stained glass cross in our church sanctuary. Isn’t it beautiful?

Then the church throughout Judea, Galilee and Samaria enjoyed a time of peace and was strengthened. Living in the fear of the Lord and encouraged by the Holy Spirit, it increased in numbers. –Acts 9:31

A snug and cozy home in a beautiful part of the country

My people will live in peaceful dwelling places, in secure homes, in undisturbed places of rest. –Isaiah 32:18

 For you will go out with joy, and be led forth with peace; the mountains and the hills will break forth into shouts of joy before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands. —Isaiah 55:12

Enough food, clothing and everything else I need to be comfortable

He enjoys much who is thankful for little; a grateful mind is both a great and happy mind. –Unknown

My precious Bible

[with tons of hand-written margin notes, highlighted passages and sticky notes marking certain pages]

Blessed are those who keep his testimonies, who seek him with their whole heart. –Psalm 119:2

But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen. –2 Peter 3:18

AnnaSmile

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on June 27, 2013, in thankful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. John Christopher

    this was great Anna, I been asking everyone at my job that question since I read it on your site, it makes you think!

  2. “Forget not ALL His benefits” Psalm 103:2
    Every good thing we are and every good thing we have is because of Him . . . and His will is to make us even better and to give us even more good things.

    What an incredibly amazing God!

    Thank you Anna for sharing your ‘good things’ with us.

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers

