Merry Christmas 2013 From Us

baby-jesus-Mary-Joseph

Now in those days a decree went out from Caesar Augustus, that a census be taken of all the inhabited earth. Joseph also went up from Galilee … to register along with Mary, who was engaged to him, and was with child. While they were there, the days were completed for her to give birth. And she gave birth to her firstborn son; and she wrapped Him in cloths, and laid Him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn.      —Luke 2:1, 4-7

As I contemplated this Christmas season and what it means to me, I found my thoughts focused on Mary and how she must have felt knowing she was carrying the Messiah Jesus—the Son of God. It must have seemed like a burden and a treasure at the same time. I mean, how can a person wrap their mind around such an amazing thing?

I have tried to put myself in Mary’s place. I would feel scared, humbled, awestruck, wondering… How would Joseph and I be able to raise the Son of God properly? Would He do the typical things that tax a parent’s patience? And if so, how could we properly discipline Him? It must surely be disrespectful to do so to the Son of God.

Still, there must have been moments of pure joy as I looked into that tiny little face and praised the God of the universe for choosing me, a small town girl. I would have wondered why God had singled me out for this honor. What could I have done (or not done) to deserve such a privilege?

And in spite of everything her mind and heart told her, Mary immediately said yes!

…..Luke1-38…..

The other day I heard one of my favorite Christmas songs on the radio as I drove home from a weekend of visiting with my children. The song, “Mary Did You Know,” is written by Mark Lowry. I felt the lyrics deep in my heart, so in case you have never heard this song you can hear and view it here:

……

Here are the lyrics in case you have trouble viewing the video:

Mary, did you know
That your baby boy will one day walk on water?
Did you know
That your baby boy will save our sons and daughters?
Did you know
That your baby boy has come to make you new?
This child that you’ve delivered
Will soon deliver you

Mary, did you know
That your baby boy will give sight to a blind man?
Did you know
That your baby boy will calm a storm with His hand?
Did you know
That your baby boy has walked where angels trod?
And when you kiss your little boy
You’ve kissed the face of God

Mary, did you know?
The blind will see
The deaf will hear
And the dead will live again
The lame will leap
The dumb will speak
The praises of the Lamb

Mary, did you know
That your baby boy is Lord of all creation?
Did you know
That your baby boy will one day rule the nations?
Did you know
That your baby boy is heaven’s perfect Lamb?
This sleeping child you’re holding
Is the Great I Am

……

Rick and I are so thankful for the many blessings God has given us: each other … family and friends … enough to be able to live comfortably … a roof over our heads …  sufficient food and clothing … a wonderful church family … God’s written Word within easy reach … the sure knowledge that we will live forever with Jesus Christ, our Savior and Lord.

As I shared with you last week, Rick and I celebrated our 15th anniversary this month. Daily we reflect on God’s blessings in our marriage as He knits our hearts together more every day.

For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. —Luke 2:11

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. —John 3:16

…..

Blessings and love during this Christmas season from Anna and Rick!

Anna-Rick-Coffee

…..

…..

…..

…..

The advertising which may appear below is not placed by the author and is not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on December 14, 2013, in Christmas, thankful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh, Anna, thank you for sharing these words. I’ve not heard the song, and I love the words. AND I LOVE this picture. I’m saving it on my computer. Merry Christmas to you both with hugs and kisses. D

    • I’m glad you like the song, D. (Yes, I know who you are!) The lyrics have been running through my head almost all day, everyday! And the photo is a couple of years old, taken at a coffee shop we used to go to that has since changed management. Of course you know I have a pink Santa hat!

      Love you!!!!!

  2. Beautiful post, sweet Anna! This song is one of my favorites. So touching! I wish you and your family a very blessed Christmas!

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

