Thankful for God’s Blessings

Thankful_Thursdays

Every so often I like to share some of my devotionals with you that were published in an anthology titled Anytime Prayers for Everyday People. My assignment was to write 30 devotionals for this book, and I had only 3 weeks to get them done. That tight deadline was stressful enough, but having migraines 24/7 only added more stress. When I wasn’t writing, I was sleeping!

Thankfully, God’s continuous grace and mercy got me through this difficult assignment. Looking back now, I can say that He carried me through all my painful circumstances to write what He had in mind for me. I hope you are as blessed when you read this as I was while I was writing it. To God be the glory for walking with me through it!

Please enjoy this devotional. It was the first in the section titled Prayers of Praise and Thanksgiving.

When I want to thank God for His blessings . . .

Praise the LORD, O my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name. Praise the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits. —Psalm 103:1-2

From the fullness of his grace we have all received one blessing after another. —John 1:16

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ.. —Ephesians 1:3

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning. —James 1:17

. . . I will pray.

Holy Lord,

Lately I’ve been reflecting on how much You have blessed me, and it brings tears to my eyes as I realize You supply all these things because You love me so much.

I look around my home and see how You have amply provided for all my needs. Comfortable furniture fills my rooms. There is food in the pantry and refrigerator to nourish my body. The clothes in my closet keep me warm in winter and allow me to be cool in summer.

I am surrounded by family and friends who love and care about me. Did You place them in my life to help me through the rough patches? It seems that way to me.

I know there are times I don’t appreciate You as much as I should. Instead, I grumble and complain about the most insignificant things. That’s when You remind me that You are always with me—and that is the biggest and best blessing of all. When I’m happy and joyful, You cheer me up even more. And when I’m feeling low, it helps me to remember that the most precious part of my life is knowing You.

Thank You for being the Giver of bountiful blessings.

Amen.

Reflect upon your present blessings of which every man has many; not on your past misfortunes of which all men have some. —Charles Dickens

[From Anytime Prayers for Everyday People. Copyright © 2006 Bordon-Winters LLC]

AnytimePrayersForEverydayPeople

.

AnnaSmile…..

…..

The advertising which may appear below is not placed by the author and is not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

..

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on February 20, 2014, in don't give up, God, God's grace, God's mercy, God's plan, grace, praise, prayer, thankful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Amen!!

  2. LORD, I MEANT TO TELL YOU.
    By Rev. Lucius C. Gallion

    Lord, I’m sure You remember (just the other day.)
    It had been quite a while, (since I kneeled down to pray.)
    I had written and rehearsed (all I had planned to say.)
    But the Holy Spirit stepped in (and had His perfect way.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.

    Lord, I remember times (that I didn’t have a dime to spare.)
    I begged for food to eat. I borrowed clothes to wear.
    You showered me Your blessings from almost everywhere.)
    I do thank You, Lord, ( for keeping me in Your care.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.

    Lord, I meant to tell You (that since way back when)
    You have always been my Comfort. (You have been my best friend.)
    Others often left me (in grief and in pain.)
    But You would pay a visit (and there You would remain.)
    I can remember times (that I didn’t know what to do.)
    You said, “Don’t worry, my child. I’ll take care of you.)
    Lord, You lifted my burdens. (You set my poor soul free.)
    Lord, I truly thank You (for being mighty good to me.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.

    Lord, I meant to thank You (for your healing touch.)
    It seems like so little, (but it does so much.)
    At times I have been rushed (to an emergency room.)
    Lord, sometimes I felt (that I was headed for my doom.)
    Lord, I thank You for the nurses, (the doctors and technicians.
    But most of all I thank You (for being my Chief Physician.)
    Lord, I thank You for your Comfort. I thank You for your stay.
    Lord, I also thank You (for blessing me to walk away.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.
    LORD, I MEANT TO TELL YOU (continued)
    By Rev. Lucius C. Gallion

    Lord, I meant to tell You (about my latest sins.)
    You said, “Child, I already know. (Just don’t do them again.)
    Lord, I thank You for Your mercy. (I thank You for Your grace.)
    Without them, Lord, (I couldn’t run this Christian race.)

    Lord, I cried. I shouted. (I danced a little while too.)
    There’s just no limit to the things that You can do.
    I once was bound in sin. (You set my poor soul free.)
    I will praise You, Lord, (throughout eternity.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.

    48

  3. Rev. Lucius C. Gallion

    Thank God For Your Blessings Everyday.
    By Rev. Lucius C. Gallion

    Thank God for your blessings.
    Thank God for your blessings.
    Thank God for your blessings ev –er-y da-a-ay. (Thank God every day.)
    The Lord surely giveth and the Lord taketh away.
    Thank God for your blessings every day. (Thank God every day.)

    Thank God for blessing you to rise to your feet.
    Thank God for blessing you with food you can eat.
    Thank God for blessing you another day to live.
    Thank God for the love and mercy He so freely gives.

    Thank God for your blessings.
    Thank God for your blessings.
    Thank God for your blessings ev –er-y da-a-ay. (Thank God every day.)
    The Lord surely giveth and the Lord taketh away.
    Thank God for your blessings every day. (Thank God every day.)

    Thank God for blessing you to feel your aches and pains.
    Thank God that you can smell the fragrance of the rain.
    Thank God for the blood of Jesus that cleanses sinful stains.
    Thank God you can tell the world that you’ve been born again.

    Thank God for your blessings.
    Thank God for your blessings.
    Thank God for your blessings ev –er-y da-a-ay. (Thank God every day.)
    The Lord surely giveth and the Lord taketh away.
    Thank God for your blessings every day. (Thank God every day.)

    If you h-a-v-e – eye to see, (Thank God.)
    If you c-a-n – bend your knees, (Thank God.)
    If you a-r-e –able to walk, (Thank God.)
    If you a-r-e – able to talk, (Thank God.)

    Thank God for your blessings.
    Thank God for your blessings.
    Thank God for your blessings ev –er-y da-a-ay. (Thank God every day.)
    The Lord surely giveth and the Lord taketh away.
    Thank God for your blessings every day. (Thank God every day.)

    46

  4. Rev. Lucius C. Gallion

    LORD, I MEANT TO TELL YOU.
    By Rev. Lucius C. Gallion

    Lord, I’m sure You remember (just the other day.)
    It had been quite a while, (since I kneeled down to pray.)
    I had written and rehearsed (all I had planned to say.)
    But the Holy Spirit stepped in (and had His perfect way.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.

    Lord, I remember times (that I didn’t have a dime to spare.)
    I begged for food to eat. I borrowed clothes to wear.
    You showered me Your blessings from almost everywhere.)
    I do thank You, Lord, ( for keeping me in Your care.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.

    Lord, I meant to tell You (that since way back when)
    You have always been my Comfort. (You have been my best friend.)
    Others often left me (in grief and in pain.)
    But You would pay a visit (and there You would remain.)
    I can remember times (that I didn’t know what to do.)
    You said, “Don’t worry, my child. I’ll take care of you.)
    Lord, You lifted my burdens. (You set my poor soul free.)
    Lord, I truly thank You (for being mighty good to me.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.

    Lord, I meant to thank You (for your healing touch.)
    It seems like so little, (but it does so much.)
    At times I have been rushed (to an emergency room.)
    Lord, sometimes I felt (that I was headed for my doom.)
    Lord, I thank You for the nurses, (the doctors and technicians.
    But most of all I thank You (for being my Chief Physician.)
    Lord, I thank You for your Comfort. I thank You for your stay.
    Lord, I also thank You (for blessing me to walk away.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.
    LORD, I MEANT TO TELL YOU (continued)
    By Rev. Lucius C. Gallion

    Lord, I meant to tell You (about my latest sins.)
    You said, “Child, I already know. (Just don’t do them again.)
    Lord, I thank You for Your mercy. (I thank You for Your grace.)
    Without them, Lord, (I couldn’t run this Christian race.)

    Lord, I cried. I shouted. (I danced a little while too.)
    There’s just no limit to the things that You can do.
    I once was bound in sin. (You set my poor soul free.)
    I will praise You, Lord, (throughout eternity.)

    Lord, I meant to tell You (Lord, I meant to tell You)
    That You’ve been (You’ve been) so good (so good)
    You’ve been so good to me.

    48

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers

