My Consolation

Wonderful Wednesday

It has been quite a long time since I’ve posted anything new in my Wonderful” series on the Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord, so I think it is time to share another one.

1Thes-1-5

The Consolation of Israel

There was a man in Jerusalem, whose name was Simeon; and the same man was just and devout, waiting for the consolation of Israel. —Luke 2:25

For when we brought you the Good News, it was not only with words but also with power, for the Holy Spirit gave you full assurance that what we said was true. And you know of our concern for you from the way we lived when we were with you. —1 Thessalonians 1:5

…..

Simeon was just and devout and waited for the “Consolation of Israel.”  “Consolation” means “paraclete” (One coming alongside) as we think and speak of the Holy Spirit who comes to abide in and lead us out in our daily life. Simeon was waiting for the deliverance of the Jews by the coming of the Messiah. They did not as a nation receive Him, but some did and were consoled, and Israel shall yet have the promised consolation, as Paul was comforted by the power of the indwelling Holy Spirit (1 Thessalonians 1:5). 

Lord, may we also rely upon the abiding comfort of the indwelling of the Holy Spirit all the day. Amen.

[Taken from Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord, by Charles E. Hurlburt and T. C. Horton. Copyright © 2002 by Barbour Publishing, Inc.]

My thoughts

When I said, “My foot is slipping,” Your love, O LORD, supported me. When anxiety was great within me, Your consolation brought joy to my soul. —Psalm 94:18-19 

Psalm-94.18.19

…..

Years ago people with whom I worked gave me the nickname Smiley. Someone even found a smiley face poster and placed it in my workspace. I guess I’ve always been an optimist no matter how bad things are. But some have not believed this to be a good
thing, rather that I should be more of a realist.

I say there is plenty of reality surrounding me every day that I don’t like at all. There have been times I’ve been so anxious about  my situation, I’ve lost sight of the most important thing of all: my relationship with God. Whenever I concentrate too much on the reality of things, I focus more on myself and my circumstances and I lose sight of the Lord.

In Psalm 94:18-19, we are assured that our Lord is ever waiting to console our anxiety and to support us in our times of greatest need. I’ve personally found that every time I turn from my pain and frustration to the face of the One who loves me and cares for me so much, my viewpoint completely changes. Instead of the harsh reality of my illnesses, I feel surrounded by a love too great to measure.

It is as if God’s arms are holding me close in a calm, soothing embrace.

I’d much rather be known as Smiley than Grouchy any day. Who knows? My outward smile may reach inside someone else’s hurt and help them see that they are not alone in their pain, that there is One who is ready to console them right there and then.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, some days are more difficult to get through than others. Just when I’m feeling a little better, I’ll have a day that brings me to my knees. But maybe that’s exactly what you want from me, and if so, then by Your grace I will smile as I look to You for my consolation. Amen.

…..

pink-divider

SmileyBlackCoffeeAnna

WHITE SPACE

The advertising which may appear below is not placed by the author and is not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.


About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on March 12, 2014, in comfort, consolation, God, God the Holy Spirit, Lord, song, strength and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Me too Anna! I want so much to be know as a smiley than grouchy. I get too serious at times and I am working to improve on my smileyness. There is so much to be happy about and the joy in our hearts are meant to reflect on our face.
    Thanks for sharing, have a super blessed day!
    Love

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

