Hidden with Christ

 

HIDDEN WITH CHRIST

Col3-1-3--set your mind on things above

Since, then, you have been raised in Christ, set
your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at
the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above,
not on earthly things. For you died, and your life
is now hidden with Christ in God.
—Colossians 3:1-3

 

What does it really mean to be hidden with Christ? 

The word “hidden” means covered, concealed … in other words, safe. It means that this very day, I am safe in Christ’s arms as one of His very own children.

This is a tremendous comfort, especially when life throws us curve balls. So often we plan something only to find we don’t have the energy to accomplish that plan. Or perhaps our pain is so bad that we can only lie in bed and brood about how our illness interferes with the stuff of life. That’s how we start believing we’re not much good to our loved ones or anyone else.

Well, I’m here to tell you that God uses everything and everyone to His advantage, even those of us feeling yucky and unproductive.

My Mom was a good example. For 11 long years, she suffered with congestive heart failure with its associated complications. One time in the midst of another terrible bout of pneumonia, we were told she only had about two months to live. But God apparently had more for her to do here on earth because she lived quite a few years after that!

My mother raised up a family of five girls. She was always cooking, cleaning, doing the laundry or a host of other household tasks. After she was diagnosed with congestive heart failure, she had to learn to learn to pace herself to get through each day.

A great deal of her time was spent in her recliner and what did she do to keep busy? She prayed! Mom was in constant communication with her Savior, and found such complete comfort and strength in Him. She learned what it means to “set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.” She focused on the eternal rather than the temporary, and God continued to use her in spite of her limited physical abilities.

So take heart, Beloved. You are much more important to God than your particular set of circumstances. God can use you in your present situation to show His love to those around you!

…..

VectorPageDivider

SmileyBlackCoffeeAnna

WHITE SPACE


The advertising which may appear below is not placed by the author and is not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on April 12, 2014, in God, Jesus Christ, peace, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t mean to sound selfish, but it feels like your post today was just for me. Thank you.

  2. Safe and secure . . . hidden in Christ . . . nowhere in the whole world could offer the safety, security, peace,love and joy that we have in Him!
    John 10:28-29 assures us we are DOUBLY safe, for we are in Christ’s hands (28) and in the Father’s hands (29)

    What an incredibly amazing God!

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 531 other followers

