I Put My Hope in You

Ps38-15

I Put My Hope in You

Lord, my every desire is known to You;
my sighing is not hidden from You.
My heart races, my strength leaves me,
and even the light of my eyes has faded.
My loved ones and friends stand back from my affliction,
and my relatives stand at a distance.

I put my hope in You, Lord;
You will answer, Lord my God.
—Psalm 38:9-11, 15

Has anyone ever questioned the validity of your illness or avoided you because of it? Perhaps they have wondered out loud how you can look so good when you tell them how rotten you feel.

I’m willing to guess that all of us who suffer with chronic illness and pain have experienced these times, because most chronic illness seems to affect us more internally than externally. When we try to explain our pain level to others, they just don’t get it because they can’t see any apparent outward symptoms.

This used to greatly frustrate me until the day one of my neighbors revealed to me that she had fibromyalgia too. She always looked great to me and seemed to have so much energy. I couldn’t believe she and I had this in common.

Suddenly I realized a horrible truth about myself: what I was thinking about my neighbor is exactly what is frustrating when others think these kinds of things about me! I finally understood their confusion and impatience with me at times.

When someone tells you they understand your pain because they are re going through something similar, don’t you feel like a weight has been lifted from your shoulders? This is the way God feels about us and our pain—He knows all about it and longs to carry us through it.

In these verses, David sounds weary with his situation, yet he also expresses his certainty that God is at his side and will answer his prayers. We can also have the assurance that God is in our corner even when others are not. He is always there for us. All we need to do is look to Him for His quiet understanding and limitless love.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, sometimes I get frustrated when people don’t understand what I’m going through. But You know and show me in so many ways how much You care about me and my situation. Help me to never lose sight of that fact, and to always look to You first for comfort and understanding. Amen.

…..

VectorPageDivider

SmileyBlackCoffeeAnna

WHITE SPACE


The advertising which may appear below is not placed by the author and is not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on May 6, 2014, in God, hope and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Another blessing in word to those of us who battle in silence daily. Praise be to God who always causes us to triumph!

    • Yes, because in spite of how awful we may be feeling — whether it can be seen or not — we can have confidence in that ultimate Hope. There is where we have our triumph!

  2. Thanks Anna.
    Hope in God is complete assurance and confidence in the One who can never fail, who never makes a mistake, and who ALWAYS has our best interest at heart. When we have this hope, we are at peace, regardless of the circumstances.

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 570 other followers

