My Balm of Gilead

Here is another great piece from The Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord.
jeremiah_8_22_is_there_no_balm_in_gilead

Balm of Gilead

Is there no balm in Gilead? —Jeremiah 8:22

There are experiences of suffering through which the Master wills that we should pass. There are burdens which He does not lift, though He takes us, burden and all, into His everlasting arms. But in every suffering which He permits, He is our “Balm.” He eases every pain. He comforts every sorrow. He strengthens us in every weakness. There is a “Balm” in our Gilead. Shall we take from Him the comfort which He offers us today?

[Taken from Wonderful Names of Our Wonderful Lord, by Charles E. Hurlburt and T. C. Horton. Copyright © 2002 by Barbour Publishing, Inc.]

My thoughts

Is there no balm in Gilead,
Is there no physician there?
Why then is there no recovery
For the health of the daughter of my people?
—Jeremiah 8:22

 

Waiting is difficult, especially in the midst of pain and suffering. There is no doubt that life here on earth is hard. We often feel as if we’re treading hopelessly through thick mud that is trying to suck us in. 

111805-BleuWe once had a sweet Sheltie. Bleu would get all shook up whenever he heard any kind of motor or engine noise. Out in the backyard, he barked and would dig at the ground when he heard someone in the neighborhood using a lawn mower or leaf blower. When we started the truck to go somewhere, he would bark and run around in circles until we had backed out of the garage. Even sounds like the blender or vacuum cleaner caused him to bark in agitation. As the noise continued, he would run for one of his stuffed toys and carry it around like a toddler with their security blanket. It sure was a funny sight to us.

Isn’t that the way we are when faced with adversity though? We search for something to calm us down and quiet our hearts. Maybe we immerse ourselves in a book or magazine, or park ourselves in front of the TV for hours. Perhaps we use the internet to shop for things we can’t afford and don’t need. And how many of us turn to our own version of  comfort food when we’re feeling low?

A little at a time, God has been showing me that the only way to get through anything tough is to go directly to Him. Beloved, that’s what He is there for!

Through reading my Bible and devotions, and praying for specific needs, God is always faithful to show me in His Word what He wants me to do. I have tons of past experience in trying to do things on my own before I finally remember how much better things are when I look to God first.

How much better would my life be if I always remembered to seek God first before leaping ahead of Him?

It’s important to remember that God doesn’t ever allow us to go through more than we can stand, even though the circumstances seem
overwhelming. When the crucial times are over, we can look back and see that God was with us all along, carrying our load for us just as His Son, Jesus Christ, did for us on that cross at Calvary.

Beloved, right now you can give your pains, frustrations and anxieties over to the only One who really cares about you and your problems.

Jesus carries

Jesus is our Balm of Gilead.
We can always count on Him to carry us through. 

The other day I once again heard John Waller’s wonderful song “While I’m Waiting” from the movie Fireproof and realized how well it speaks to the great peace and comfort we can feel as we wait on God to walk us through those inevitable tough times.

If you cannot view this video for any reason, you can read the lyrics here.

VectorPageDivider

SmileyBlackCoffeeAnna

The advertising which may appear below is not placed by the author and is not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on May 8, 2014, in God, God the Son, Jesus Christ and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “His Name shall be called Wonderful…” “He is our peace. He has broken down every wall.” Great Post!

  2. >>> “Through reading my Bible and devotions, and praying for specific needs, God is always faithful to show me in His Word what He wants me to do. I have tons of past experience in trying to do things on my own before I finally remember how much better things are when I look to God first.”

    I’m sure we can all echo those words. What fools we are to try to do anything without Him! What fools we are when our very first thought is NOT towards Him!

    What an incredibly amazing, always faithful God!

    • I am gratified that the Lord has been patient with me through the years as I’ve learned a little at a time to go to Him first with everything! Thanks for stopping in and commenting, Cloudwatcher!

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 548 other followers

