Make Music in Your Heart

Eph5-19


Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord, 

always giving thanks to God the Father for everything,
in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

—Ephesians 5:19b-20

Have you ever heard the phrase attitude of gratitude? Ask yourself why it should be an attitude, rather than just good old gratitude. It’s easy to be grateful when things are going well, but what about when they’re not? Is it possible to be thankful even then?

So many of us struggle with how to live joyfully with chronic illness or disability. The reality is that trying to find any kind of joy in such situations takes time. What can we do to live with pain and yet truly keep a positive outlook?

I’m sure you’ve met people who struggle with daily pain yet never fail to greet you with joy no matter how they feel. How do they maintain such a grateful attitude when they’re going through such tough times?

ChronicPainFor those of us who are chronically ill or disabled, it is natural to want things as they used to be. But not only is that a waste of precious time and emotions, allowing God to use us where we are now can help us focus on the good things in our lives. And that leads us to remember that God is working everything out for the best, even if it doesn’t seem that way to us.

Beloved, life is not easy for those of us struggling with daily pain issues. The simplest tasks can seem daunting when our bodies refuse to cooperate properly. However, we do have a choice: we can choose to be sad and angry about what is happening to us. Or we can nurture an attitude of gratitude, which usually results in a happy outlook and allows others to glimpse God’s love through us.

I often sing this song by Casting Crowns in my heart to God when I am at my lowest. It never fails to do two things:

  • I am filled with utter thankfulness that He is always, always, always holding me close to His side
  • my eyes start leaking

If you cannot view this video of Casting Crowns’ “Praise You in This Storm,” please click here to read the lyrics.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, sometimes it is so hard to sing through our pain, but we know You are always at our side to strengthen and hold us up when we are not able to on our own. Help us remember that giving thanks for everything means we can be thankful for what You are doing in our hearts through our pain. Thank You for always being our All in All. Blessed be Your holy Name!

 

VectorPageDivider

SmileyBlackCoffeeAnna

WHITE SPACE


The advertising which may appear below is not placed by the author and is not to be considered as a part of this post or an expression of my views.

About Anna Popescu

I live in northern Arizona with my husband, Rick. I am blessed to say that Rick and I are at the bottom corners of a triangle where Jesus sits at the top corner. My children, Kathy & Alan, live in the Phoenix area and make this mom's heart thankful they have grown to be such wonderful and caring adults. Alan married in 2010, so I am also blessed with Denise as a special daughter-in-love. The Lord took my Mom home in 2007, and I miss her. My Dad and two sisters live in Florida while my two other sisters live in the Northeast. God has also blessed me and Rick with a local family of very close-knit friends. I love to write when I am able, but on the days when I am struggling with health issues and can't manage much of anything, I can at least crochet. These days I mainly crochet lapghans of various colors and sizes for area rehab centers and nursing homes.

Posted on June 3, 2014, in music, praise, sing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Again, my iPad won’t let me give this post the stars it deserves. Just what I needed today. One Doctor told me yesterday that I may lose my foot, but I read in Proverbs 3:26 that my foot shall not be taken. I choose to believe the good report. I chose to believe the Great Physician.

    • Raymond, I choose to believe with you and will be praying for you.

      Side note–Since I’ve been on this rest period, I had forgotten that I scheduled this post and was completely surprised to get the notice that it had published. Here’s the amazing and God-incidence thing: He knew I needed to read this today as much as you apparently did! I love how He works in our lives!

      Blessings to you Brother!

  2. Anna, I’ve been praying for you in this time of absence and trust you are improving. I know you are trusting our great God and finding great comfort in His loving arms. He is faithful.

    • Cloudwatcher, thank you for all your prayers! No matter how I’m feeling, God always plants a tune of praise and joy in my heart and I will always be thankful for that! I’ll slowly be posting here and there as you’ll read in tomorrow’s post.

      Blessings to you!

  1. Pingback: Evening Wolves | This Thing Called Life...

So what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 531 other followers

