So Do Not Fear

Is41-10-WolfStalking--AMP

So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
—Isaiah 41:10

When I was a little girl, I was deathly afraid of dogs because one day a large dog chased me home from the corner store. I remember my terror while running with that dog right on my heels. I glanced back once to see his huge jaws open and those sharp teeth exposed.

As I got closer to home, I began yelling for my Mom to open the front door. I don’t know that she heard my words but she definitely heard me calling for her and was at the front door when I appeared. I darted past her and she quickly slammed the door shut.

Several years later, I started taking piano lessons from a woman who had the cutest little dog. Although the dog was cute, it was still a dog and I was as frightened of that little thing as I had been of the big dog who chased me home. My piano teacher couldn’t figure out why I was so afraid of her dog until I told her what had happened with that other dog. Once she understood my fright, she made it a point after every lesson to bring her dog over so I could get used to it. Several months later, I finally felt comfortable with her dog and learned to enjoy her sweet little face and cute ways.

As an adult, until a few years ago there was always a furry canine friend or two in my life and I know what it is like to feel the love and trust of these special creatures.

God works in our lives to alleviate our fears much like my piano teacher did. She would take my hand, place it gently on her dog’s back, and together we stroked that soft fur. Eventually I got up the nerve to pat the dog myself—first her back, then her head and finally I trusted her enough to let her lick my hand.

Beloved, God guides us through times of fear and uncertainty by slowly but surely filling us with the confidence that only He can give. You can always count on Him to keep a firm hold of your hand to carry you through those fearful times because He promised to do so.

BlogSL2-smallest

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

