Heads Roll

Zeph-3-17-Overlay--AMP

Heads Roll

By Patricia Knight

“The Lord your God is with you,
He is mighty to save,
He will take great delight in you,
He will quiet you with His love,
He will rejoice over you with singing”
(Zephaniah 3:17).

When I was a little girl, playing with my dolls was a favorite pastime.  Imagine the trauma I suffered when my doll’s head fell off!  My Daddy always seemed to be able to pop that doll’s head right back onto her shoulders again. I would go running to greet him at the end of his workday, hanging onto the two doll parts. He instinctively knew what would make a little girl’s heart happy, performing repairable doll surgery right before my eyes.

One day the three of us siblings were causing a loud verbal commotion. Our mother announced in measured tones, “I have a headache and if you children don’t quiet down, my head is going to fall off.” Instantly, I envisioned a frightening mind picture of my mother’s head detached from her shoulders. So I was quick to assure her, “That’s all right, Mommy, Daddy will put your head back on when he gets home tonight.” I remember confusion reigned when she broke into peals of laughter. This was not funny at all to me, but if she found humor in my remarks, maybe her headache would go away and we wouldn’t have to witness her head helplessly rolling off her shoulders.

2Cor-3-4--AMP

Lessons the broken doll taught me prepared me for tragedies that would strike in my future lifetime, directing me where to turn for relief. Trusting God as the Source of all my help is the ultimate relationship the heavenly Father wants all of us to enjoy with Him. He is the one “who comforts us in all our troubles” (2 Corinthians 1:4). That is the knowledge we need to navigate this world and its trials. There is no problem too difficult for my Lord to solve.

Job was a broken man but not defeated. He was declared “blameless and upright; he feared God and shunned evil (Job 1:1b). One day, he suddenly lost all of his wealth, family, and possessions. He was struck with a rare skin disease of overwhelming proportions. However, he persisted in trusting God. Job knew, that “nothing is impossible with God” (Luke 1:37). He was not into the mode of blaming God for his calamities. Job rationalized his steadfast hope: “Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?”(Job 2:10). Job decided to choose victory, as God promised. He took the high road of deep faith that would not shatter during a personal crisis.

I didn’t understand how my Daddy fixed my doll, but I trusted that he would. More importantly, he took responsibility for his little girl’s happiness. Isn’t this the reaction God wants from us, that we trust Him for our happiness? God loves us and wants us to put our confidence in Him as the Source for all our help and protection.

Jesus taught His disciples in parables, using common objects to convey a lesson to them. He will also find the best way to teach us His principles, even if it involves a toy.  Nothing escapes God’s service.

6 thoughts on “Heads Roll

  1. Enjoyed this. Thanks, Pat and Anna. Reminded me of years ago when I went to training in how to teach toddlers about Jesus, God, the Bible, that we should realize that small children take everything literally. Therefore, we should avoid terms like “God is holy”, as they see a man with holes all over him. When I read this it reminded me again, words matter, especially to both little people and to all of us. God gave us His Word in a manner we “toddlers” can understand. He is an amazing God, isn’t He?

    Like

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

