Sunday #Praise and #Worship: Psalm 3

SundayPraiseAndWorship-50--AMP

Today I’d like to share a musical version of Psalm 3 from one of my new favorite sites, Overview Bible. Jeffrey and Laura Kranz are the husband-wife team that makes Bible study resources available which show how interesting and approachable the Bible really is. They are currently setting the Psalms to music, but you’ll also find a wealth of information there: Bible studies, devotionals, infographics and freebies. You can even  sign up to get one Bible book summary each week as a free email course.

In Psalm 3, David was in a difficult situation. He had become an outcast and a fugitive from his own city Jerusalem, which is called the city of David. He had been driven from the people he ruled. Absalom, his son, was in rebellion against him and seeking his life. Absalom’s intention was actually to put his father to death. Your heart cannot help but go out to David during this heartbreaking experience.

During the time of Absalom’s rebellion there were many others who rose up against David. He went out of Jerusalem barefoot and weeping. He passed over Kidron. It looked as if there was no help for him at all.¹

As you listen to this song, ponder the words of Psalm 3 as David continued to trust in God in spite of his dire circumstances:

Psalm 3

Morning Prayer of Trust in God.

A Psalm of David, when he fled from Absalom his son.

O Lord, how my adversaries have increased!
Many are rising up against me.
Many are saying of my soul,
“There is no deliverance for him in God.” Selah.

But You, O Lord, are a shield about me,
My glory, and the One who lifts my head.
I was crying to the Lord with my voice,
And He answered me from His holy mountain.Selah.
I lay down and slept;
I awoke, for the Lord sustains me.
I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people
Who have set themselves against me round about.

Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God!
For You have smitten all my enemies on the cheek;
You have shattered the teeth of the wicked.
Salvation belongs to the Lord;
Your blessing be upon Your people! Selah.²

 Please excuse any ads that may appear before the video begins

 

Please take the time to visit Overview Bible.


¹ Copyright © 1982 by Thru the Bible Radio, J. Vernon McGee. Thomas Nelson, Inc., Nashville, Tennessee.

² New American Standard Bible (NASB). Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation

2 thoughts on “Sunday #Praise and #Worship: Psalm 3

  1. Such faithful strength. I adore the word Selah. Even though the bible never truly gives translation, we’re sure, as Christians, it means to pause and reflect. 💜

    Like

I'm sorry to advise you that I am requiring comments to be moderated and then approved because of recently discovered security bugs. Thank you for your patience and understanding!

