The Power of #Weakness

2Cor12-9-Hummingbird-Branch2--AMP

The Power of Weakness

By Brian Biggers

And He said to me,
“My grace is sufficient for you,
for My strength is made perfect in weakness.”
—2 Corinthians 12:9

This is one of the greatest mysteries in the Kingdom; that God will never allow His power to rest on human strength or ability, only on human weakness.  It goes completely contrary to rational thinking.

All our lives we’ve been taught ‘do your best and God will do the rest’ or ‘God helps those who help themselves’.  The reality of Scripture is that He waits until I’m completely hopeless before He steps in and does for me what I can’t do.  When in lifeguard training we were taught that when someone was drowning we were to swim to where they were but not to attempt to help them as long as they were still struggling.  If you did they would drown both of you.  Wait until they had no more energy and were going under, then you can reach in and save them.  I don’t need Him to help “me” do anything, since “apart from ME you can do nothing”.  A life that will experience the power and presence of God’s Spirit being in me and through me what I could never be begins not with trying to do His will, but by bending my knee in His presence and humbly confessing my total inability to do anything without Him.  This is the place in His Divine mystery that His power will meet me in my weakness and I will find that “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”.

Leave a Reply

